> >
main menu
horn works menu
trombone works menu
Suite for Horn, Trombone and Piano
by Bruce Stark
about 12 minutes, in four movements

Belle-Kane Publications
$19.99 (US) score and parts

I. Simple Truth, II. Groove, III. Lullaby, IV. Rondo

Program Notes
With the four movements of Suite for Horn, Trombone and Piano I wanted to
compose a piece that sings and dances, while offering the players music that lays
well with their instrument and provides a forum in which the expressive range,
lyricism, and vitality of this trio have a chance to shine.

The first movement (Simple Truth), true to its title, paints with primary colors,
using simple harmonies and melodies to tell its story. Movement two (Groove) is
jazz-influenced and syncopated, at one point featuring each instrument in a solo,
inspired by jam sessions where various players take turns improvising. Movement
three (Lullaby) consists of two passes through a quiet, sustained melody over piano
accompaniment, one in horn and one in trombone with horn embellishments. The
final movement (Rondo) concludes the work with a fast, rhythmically driven piece
of syncopation and interwoven rhythmic tapestries. Appearances of the theme are
separated by episodes, creating an overall form of A-B-A-C-A.

I composed the suite with the intention that individual movements could also stand
on their own as short recital pieces for this unique combination of instruments.

Suite for Horn, Trombone and Piano was composed for a commission by trombonist
Megumi Kanda and horn player Dietrich Hemann in the spring of 2015. A special thanks
goes to them for their friendship, encouragement and helpful advice.

- Bruce Stark