main menu
horn works menu
trombone works menu
Overture, Adagio and Finale
for horn, trombone and piano
by Bruce Stark
about 15 minutes

Belle-Kane Publications
$19.99 (US) score and parts

Program Notes
Overture, Adagio and Finale for horn, trombone and piano was adapted from my Suite for Two Tenor Trombones and Piano for Megumi Kanda and Dietrich Hemann. Overture is resiliant and ceremonial in character, unfolding in a sonata-like structure with several contrasting themes. Adagio begins with a quiet, nostalgic melody in trombone accompanied by an arpeggiated piano figure, and later blooms into a more passionate outpouring by the trio. Finale concludes the collection with a funky, rhythmically driven piece in which each player is featured in solo passages of syncopated, jazz-influenced character.

A special thanks goes to Don Lucas for commissioning the original piece, and to Megumi Kanda and Dietrich Hemann for their interest in a version for horn and trombone. More importantly, thank you Don, Megumi and Dietrich for your friendship, encouragement, and many wonderful performances over the years.

- Bruce Stark