main menu
piano works menu

Six Dances for Piano
by Bruce Stark
solo piano
(27 pages, about 11-12 minutes)
Belle-Kane Publications
$9.99 (US)
Program Notes
Six Dances for Piano was composed in 2009, for a commission from New York's Keys To The Future piano music series under the direction of Joseph Rubenstein. For me the movement--the dance--of fingers over the keyboard is often an important aspect of creating music at the piano. The pieces are characterized by energetic, syncopated rhythms and jazz-influenced passages, with the exception of Dance No. 3 which offers a lyrical piece inspired by celtic music. Performing the six pieces in order is suggested, however pianists are encouraged to choose their favorites and try other combinations.
- Bruce Stark