main menu
piano works menu

Songs Of Innocence
by Bruce Stark
solo piano, 9 pieces
(36 pages)
Belle-Kane Publications
$12.99 (US)
1. Daddy's Here
2. Forever Song
3. Deja vu
4. Chords For Clara
5. Kane's Trains
6. Rain Watch
7. Little Lost Waltz
8. Tones For Tears
9. Yours

Songs Of Innocence (2002) is a collection of short, lyrical pieces averaging about 3 minutes each, intended as recital pieces in any combination or played separately. Their emphasis is on expressing beauty, innocence, and a love of small children. With the exception of Kane's Trains they are not technically difficult works.

The complete collection of Songs Of Innocence was recorded by Chika Nagisa on Muse, a 2006 release from Centaur Records (U.S.), available on-line at Centaur's website. British pianist Seann Alderking recorded three selections from Songs Of Innocence on his 2006 release entitled Vivid, available on-line through Red Kite Records.

Program Notes
The pieces in Songs Of Innocence were written from 1999 to 2002, a time in which, owing to my own children, my immediate surroundings were abundant with images of the very young. Laughing, crying, staring in awe at the rain, angellic or devillish, small children never cease to inspire, to help us know who we are. The collection is fondly dedicated to my wife and my children.
- Bruce Stark