main menu
trombone works menu

Suite For Trombone and Piano (2012)
by Bruce Stark
approx. 14 minutes
score (28 pages) and part (11 pages): $19.99 (US)

I. Ode To Friendship
II. Serenade
III. Bone Tones

Program notes

Suite For Trombone and Piano, completed in the spring of 2012, is comprised of three movements which were composed over a span of twenty years. The piece opens with Ode To Friendship (2010), composed for a commission from pianist Mayumi Akahoshi. Serenade (2012) is dedicated to trombonist Hiroyuki Odagiri, whose suggestion was the impetus for completing this suite. The work concludes with Bone Tones, originally composed in 1993 but considerably revised in 2012 to provide the concluding movement.

A special thanks goes to the musical friends that encouraged the creation of this piece. The support of Mr. Odagiri and Ms. Akahoshi were a vital part of giving birth to the music. Thank you, my friends!

- Bruce Stark
Spring 2012