main menu
trombone works menu
Suite for Two Tenor Trombones and Piano
by Bruce Stark
about 14 minutes, in three movements

Belle-Kane Publications
$19.99 (US) score and parts

I. Overture, II. Adagio, III. Finale

Program Notes
Suite for Two Tenor Trombones and Piano was composed during the summer of 2016 for a commission from trombonist Don Lucas, whose encouragement and inspiring performances gave birth to the music. The first movement, Overture, is resiliant in character and sonata-like in structure with several contrasting themes. Adagio begins with a quiet, nostalgic melody in trombone accompanied by an arpeggiated piano figure, and later blooms into a more passionate outpouring by the trio. Finale concludes the suite with a funky, rhythmically driven piece in which each player is featured in solo passages of syncopated, jazz-influenced character.

A special thanks goes to Don Lucas for his helpful suggestions, warm friendship, and initiative in commissioning the piece.

Bruce Stark summer 2016